Anna University - Chennai,   Tamil Nadu

 ESTD 1978
 Public University
 NIRF Ranking - 25
  COA Approved

About Anna University - Chennai

Anna University was established in the year 1978 and was formed by integrating four technical institutes in Chennai, namely College of Engineering (established in 1794), Alagappa College of Technology (established in 1944), Madras Institute of Technology (established in 1949) and School of Architecture & Planning (established in 1957). The university is named after the former Chief Minister of the state, Dr. C N Annadurai.

The institute offers Under Graduate and Post Graduate courses in the field of Engineering, Technology, Architecture and Applied Sciences. The institutes also promote research programmes and foster cooperation between academics and industrial communities.

Currently, Anna University has 4 department campuses i.e. CEG, MIT, ACT and SAP campuses along with 13 Constituent Colleges, 3 Regional Campuses at Tirunelveli, Madurai & Coimbatore, and 593 colleges (Government, Government Aided and Self-Financing Colleges) are affiliated to the University.

The University offers 29 Under Graduate and 90 Post Graduate courses in various disciplines with 16007 students pursuing degree programmes every year. The University is having 14023 Ph. D. Scholars on roll in the field of Science, Engineering and Technology.


University Grant Commission:

  • University with Potential for Excellence by the University Grant Commission (UGC).

International Ranking:

  • Ranked 201 in QS 2017-2018 Ranking in the field of Engineering and Chemical by the World University Ranking.


  • Sixth Best University
  • Eighth Best Engineering College
  • Thirteenth Best in Overall Category


  • Re-accredited ‘A' grade in 2014

Entrance Exam accepted by Anna University:


  • The University conducts Tamil Nadu Common Entrance Test (TANCET) for admission in Post Graduate courses.


  • Tamil Nadu Engineering Admission (TNEA) is a counselling process conducted by Anna University for admissions in Under Graduate courses.


  • Anna University is the first university to develop a satellite named ANUSAT.
  • The university got selected for supporting the Tamil Nadu Innovation Initiative Scheme.
  • The university has signed 41 MOUs with Foreign Universities and 26 MOUs with National-level Universities and Institutes. 

Rate Your College
The more you express, greater is the extent to which you can help other aspiring students.
Your Experience is extremely valuable.

Register Now

Enter a 10 digit mobile number

Verification SMS/Email Sent
Please enter OTP sent to mobile number
Phone no : 9584305491Edit
Send OTP
Resend OTP