Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Kharagpur - Reviews

Kharagpur, West Bengal
 

CollegeSearch Score

ARE YOU STUDENT HERE?

If you have studied or currently studying in this college, write your review now! Let admission seekers know better about the college.

FILTER

BY RATING
BY COURSES

REVIEWS

Install App to View
May 21st, 2018

 2nd year student

Review Image

Gautam Rishi Prakash M.Tech / M.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
5/5

Studying Mtech in IIT Kharagpur which is the oldest IIT College in the city is a great experience. There is a National Level GATE examination which I have completed and then took admission here in that my score was 48 and I got admission because I am from the reserved quota but for the general quota student the requirement is 56 marks The fee of the college is Rs 80,000 per year We also Receive a Stiphen of Rs 12,400 monthly from the Ministry of HRD which is also a great thing for us. The subject of mine was the Water Resource and in this course, the Placement is less.

PLACEMENTS    
4/5
FACULTY    
5/5

I don't think that potential of the faculty of IIT needs any Introduction they all are doctorates so all are expert but in my point, the best one is Prof (Dr.) Manoj Tiwari who taught us many subjects from 1st year.

CAMPUS LIFE    
 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY

Helpful ? 1      

Install App to View
September 5th, 2017

 IIT Kharagpur- Home away from home

Review Image

Soumya Shailja B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
5/5

College is a place where you get independence, and if you college is IIT Kharagpur, you are in your own hands! Here I have learnt how to be responsible and independent. I have learnt how to cope up with highs and lows. Studying 2 days before exams, having night outs with friends, being carefree for most of the time, asking for treats from the seniors, IIT Kharagpur gives it all. The hardwork pre JEE is completely worth it! Here I have got to take part in lot of activities and the coding and robotics culture here is very good.

PLACEMENTS    
4/5

A good number of students are placed through our CDC with decent packages. Department wise, CSE gets the best placement offers, but ECE, Industrial Science and Engineering, Mathematics and Computing, Instrumentation Engineering is also good.

FACULTY    
4/5

Mathematics teacher Bibhas Sir. Along with stating the theorems, proofs and formulas, he also gives their practical applications. This makes maths very enjoyable.

ADMISSION    
Admission Difficulty: Medium

Admission Criteria:JEE Mains score- 208 JEE Advanced Score- Approx 45% This college is one of the most pioneering colleges in the country. Along with providing exposure, it has one of the most widespread Alumni network all around the world being the oldest of the IITs.

CAMPUS LIFE    

National Students'Space Challenge. It is an all round fest! You have talks from the best physicists, cosmologists from the world from the best institutions like MIT, Harvard etc. Apart from these there are many robotic events with amazing problem statements.

Dramatics for obvious reasons. Social Cultural activities are always the numero uno choice for students as they are engaging, enjoyable and stress relieving.

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 HOSTEL

Helpful ? 1      

Install App to View
September 5th, 2017

 It may not be the best of reviews but worth a read

Review Image

Anonymous B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
4/5

It's a really good platform for all students irrespective of their streams. IIT Kharagpur is second best rated institution of India and there's no denying that as the results(interns, jobs and PPOs) are evident. It doesn't just focus on academic growth of a student but also helps to enhance an individual's overall personality. Society and hall culture specially contributes to this factor as they teach you how to work in group. It's all in one package!

PLACEMENTS    
5/5

There's limit scope for internships and placements in my field of study but there's a lot of research going on abroad.

FACULTY    
4/5

Prof. Koeli Ghoshal (Math). Simply because she makes us visualize what the theorems and postulates actually mean. Also she makes us understand the physical significance of it. Like how is it used in real life. So math seems interesting.

ADMISSION    
Admission Difficulty: Medium

Admission Criteria:2832, Because I'm interested in Aerospace and wish to pursue this field.

CAMPUS LIFE    

EDM Night. .

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ? 3      

Install App to View
September 5th, 2017

 Its not just a college it's Paradise. A place to learn, innovate and achieve

Review Image

Ritvik B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
5/5

Everyone has some expectations with his / her college life. This place not only fulfilled them but also made me realize how narrow my vision was. I came across a lot of new , creative and amazing things i never even dreamt about. Only advice i can give to aspirants is to start exploring things beyond books and internet , interact with people , take part in activities 'cause this is where creativity emerges from.

PLACEMENTS    
4/5

Seniors are pretty confident about it. We do have regular discussions and talks where they talk about various skill requirement of every company and their methods to approach them

FACULTY    
5/5

Ph.D scholar , Did MS from abroad. Makes it fun to learn and is strict along way to make us focus over what we are doing

ADMISSION    
Admission Difficulty: Medium

Admission Criteria:I got AIR 2206 and was interested in going for ECE/ME/Physics only. After discussing it with parents , seniors and other helpful sources i finally resolved myself to opt for mechanical eng. course and was alloted IIT Kharagpur for the same.

CAMPUS LIFE    

National Student's Space Challenge (NSSC) is a grand astro - tech fest of the college where we make robots , take part in competition , attend guest talks and the astonishing exhibition and is indeed a really cool thing to promote space - sciences and providing a platform to all enthusiasts to gather , compete and learn together

Space and Technology Student's Society ( spAts ) is one of the most prevailing societies in the campus. Their selection is itself a big event for the freshers when people face personal interviews to get short listed

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
February 27th, 2018

 1st engineering college of India

Review Image

Sukesh Nayak B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
4/5

History knows that IIT Khragpur was the 1st IIT to be open in India for the technical education which gave India's finest number of engineers not only to India but to the world and i have done my Btech in Civil Engineering from this college and i am a 2011 passout when i was student the minimum rank for the admission was 1300 but i am unaware about now and the exam which they conducts was IIT-JEE.

PLACEMENTS    
5/5

I got placed in NTPC National Thermal Power Corporation which is a great electricity generating company in the India

FACULTY    
4/5

Teachers of IIT are all rounders some areare the alumnis of IIT's PAN India and some are from the foreign University that is why there teaching style is different

CAMPUS LIFE    
 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
January 18th, 2018

 Excellent college

Review Image

Anonymous B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
5/5

IIT Kharagpur is excellent college. It is highly rated college of engineering. I just love each moment i spend in the college for whole 4yrs. It has good infrastructure, very nice teachers. College management is really helpful and efficient.

FACULTY    
5/5
CAMPUS LIFE    
 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SOCIETY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
February 25th, 2018

 Awesomeness overloaded

Review Image

Prashant B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
5/5

One of the esteemed colleges in india, where the major focus is towards the overall growth of an individual. The admission is based on JEE exam and the fee is quite nominal as it is sponsored by government. The placement are very good.

PLACEMENTS    
5/5
FACULTY    
5/5

We have very good and talented pool of teachers, all of them are ph.d scholar's. really great teachers.

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
January 18th, 2018

 nice college

Review Image

Durbij Kewat B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
5/5

IIT Kharagpur one of the prominent colleges for engineering studies. The teachers here are amazing, the infrastructure is also very good. The standard of education is excellent and provides valuable education to us.

FACULTY    
5/5
CAMPUS LIFE    
 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
October 28th, 2017

 IIT KGP College is best

Review Image

Anonymous B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
4/5

The college is really great. Besides one of the best in academic field it is also good in non academic fields. Also, the placmeents of the college is excellent almost 100%

PLACEMENTS    
5/5
FACULTY    
5/5

Excellent support from all the faculties,all the faculties are well versed with current scenario of teaching. They are quite great.

CAMPUS LIFE    

IIT Kharagpur best events is Kshitij which is a techno management fest. It is one of the best fest of the college.

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 HOSTEL

Helpful ? 1      

Install App to View
February 25th, 2018

 College review

Review Image

Shashi B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
5/5

One of the best colleges in India and one would certainly agree with this, college is of national importance, it has excellent teachers, students and research methodology

PLACEMENTS    
5/5

Placement of the college is excellent, the average package is much higher than some other colleges highest package.

FACULTY    
5/5

Teachers are well qualified and most of them are alumni of IIT only. They impart great education to the student.

CAMPUS LIFE    
 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
October 24th, 2017

  IIT Kharagpur one of the best engineering college.

Review Image

Ramesh B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
5/5

One of the best engineering colleges in India. A lot of pros like excellent faculty, infra, placement opportunities.I can not think of any con.

FACULTY    
5/5
CAMPUS LIFE    
 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SOCIETY

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
September 5th, 2017

 IIT Kharagpur BEST PLACE TO LEARN AND ACHIEVE

Review Image

Tanishq Garg B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
5/5

best in the world inn concern to studies and academic parameters. 2200 acres of campus is home for 120000 students. I ma delighted to be here.

PLACEMENTS    
5/5

Through CDC there are many opportunities to join various companies and institution working on various disciples.

Salary Package:   Above 25 Lakhs

FACULTY    
5/5

Mr. K Roy from the department of of mechanical engineering he is very efficient teacher and smart too !

ADMISSION    
Admission Difficulty: Medium

Admission Criteria:my AIR is 3741 in JEE Advanced, i want to join civil engineering

CAMPUS LIFE    

National Students' Space Challenge it has many robotic and astronomy based events. It have guest lectures by renowned professors and scientists of deemed universities

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
September 5th, 2017

 The more you explore the better you grow

Review Image

Jayanth B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
4/5

As the title suggests just search for the person who has the same interests like you and that's enough to show you success

PLACEMENTS    
4/5

They do if we have a good cg,cv else you are stuck in the middle of a sea..and all of your remaining friends will be passing out happily but you will be waiting for a better thing

FACULTY    
3/5

Maths professor The way he teaches and the way he gives examples and all.. terrific skill he has got and also the language..

ADMISSION    
Admission Difficulty: Medium

Admission Criteria:interested in ocean engineering.. had to chose over kgp or madras..so chosen this because madras is polluted a bit

CAMPUS LIFE    

SPRING FEST The best ever fest,the only fest which brings us out all our fantasies,dreams together..

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
August 26th, 2018
Review Image

Mudit MSc  Student

OVERVIEW    
5/5

A very good college in India and the first IIT .

Helpful ?      

Latest News & Updates

  1. JEE Advanced 2019: Exam Scheduled To Be Conducted On May 19 By IIT Roorkee

    12-Oct-2018
    JEE Advanced 2019 date has been announced and is scheduled to be conducted on Sunday, May 19, 2019. This year IIT Roorkee will be conducting the national level engineering entrance examination under the guidance of Joint Admission ... Read more
  2. IIT Kharagpur introduces a new course, AI and law in its curriculum

    03-Sep-2018
    IIT Kharagpur recently announces to add a new one-semester and inter-disciplinary course in its curriculum by the name of "Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Law." The course is part of The Rajiv Gandhi School of ... Read more
  3. IIT abolish Govt. proposal to mend JEE Advanced

    21-Aug-2018
    All 23 IITs across the nation has formally ruled out the proposal suggested by the human resource development ministry (HRD) to make amendments in the current examination pattern of Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) Advanced for ... Read more

VIDEOS

Advertisement
Verification Message Sent
Please enter OTP sent to your mobile Phone
Phone no : Edit
Send OTP
Submit
Resend OTP
Retry in 00