Presidency University, Kolkata - Reviews Kolkata , West Bengal

 ESTD 1817
 Public University

If you have studied or currently studying in this college, rate your college now!
Let admission seekers know better about the college.

College Rating

Faculty Rating

3.8/5

Internship/ Placement Rating

2.3/5

Infrastructure Rating

3.5/5

Canteen Rating

3/5

Hostel/Dorm Rating

2.2/5

College Fest Rating

3/5

Fashion Rating

2.3/5

Sports Rating

2/5

Overall Rating 3.8 /5

4 Ratings

By Course

Student Reviews
A
6 years ago

Anonymous BSc Student

Overview 3/5

My college, Presidency University is overburdened by its rich heritage and somehow that is why a bit over hyped too. Its true that it was established in 1817, and going to celebrate it s bi-centenary. But, it is poory recognised in India except Bengal. It has immense potential to transform into the best University of India, but due to hindrance from some petty local politics, its deterioration occurs. The campus speaks for itself, every lanes, rooms has a long history. But the rosy picture ends here and whole system needs to be rejuvinated urgently.
PLACEMENT 1/5

Not much, we do have a placement cell, but not really very good opportunity comes.
Salary Package    Less than 2.5 Lakhs
Faculty 3/5

Priyank Pravin Patel, Because i like his approach of teaching, he doesnt focus just on rote memorization. He inspires to reason and question every things and bring out its relevance in our Society.
Admission Admission Difficulty: Hard

Based on School / 12th Class Result, College's Internal Written Exam

Admission Criteria: I Secured 4th Rank in the admission test for Geography Hons. The reason to chose Presidency are as follows:- 1.Not Enough % in 12th to get into Kirorimal College, DU(Geog. Hons). 2.Rich History, Heritage and Alumni. 3.Located in Metropolitan City. 4.Best choice available in my 12th Score(90.25%)

CAMPUS LIFE
 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 EVENTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL
A
6 years ago

Amit Raj BA Student

Overview 4/5

Regarding Presidency as a college is a serious understatement for this Heritage which has a legacy of over two centuries. It gave India it's first President and 2 Nobel prize winners and exceptional contribution towards society through academics, Politics and culture. One of the forerunners in Swadeshi and Indian freedom movement, this college has a legacy in almost every sphere of life. Standing tall amidst densely populated area, this place provides you an internal solace. The compassion and love between the students belonging to different socio-economic backgrounds and the Political life of this campus is what one can cherish in life for. There's nothing to dislike.
Faculty 4.5/5

Maidul Islam is one of the most vibrant professors in the department. Oxonian scholar has immense capability to involve with all the class with his full energy. The best part is the class debates on diverse socio-political issues.
Admission Admission Difficulty: Hard

State / National Entrance Exams

Admission Criteria: I scored 83.75 out of 100 and topped the exam. The reason to choose it over other college is the underlying legacy of 200 years which has its unique appeal and the obvious name and fame of this college Due to the interest in contemporary politics and the Marxist literature, studying political science was the foremost option for any future prospect.

CAMPUS LIFE
 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 EVENTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL
M
3 years ago

Mohamed Ibrahim B.Tech Student

Best university in terms of education and faculty 3/5

Presidency University holds separate entrance exam for UG program.This college provides good education as well as experienced faculties.college also organises events and fests for students welfare and development.there are many clubs for students to develop overall.For personality development there are certain program organised by the college.
PLACEMENT 3.5/5

CAMPUS LIFE
 SPORTS
 EVENTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL
S
3 years ago

SAGARIKA MONDAL MA Student

Overview 5/5

Formerly It was the oldest college in the entire Calcutta city and it was also old then Calcutta University and they have there own university entrance examination by clearing that one can take admission here.

Similar Colleges Reviews

A
Ahmad Khurshid

3 years ago

Overview- the college is affiliated with the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad University of Technology and the college admissions are done on the 12th result and minimum required is 60% marking and education is good and students get passed every time and the teachers, faculties,
S
Sam

5 years ago

NYC college as compare to other college in Kolkata good study environment ....NYC teacher ... but problem is teacher doesn't gv much tym toh their student ... I got admissions through lateral entry .. after completing diploma engineering their student ... I got admissio
A
Anonymous

5 years ago

Pros *Great Infrastructure *Placement *U will enjoy ur college life *Become Autonomous ,going to become deemed university in coming years Cons *Little bit of active politics *If ur teacher hates u ,god can only help u * Get itself enrolled in carrer guidance
S
Samrat Ghosh

4 years ago

The Best college for BCA in Eastern India.The department aims to develop academically competent and professionally motivated personals, equipped with objective and critical thinking that compassionately foster the scientific temper with a sense of social responsibility.
V
Vishal Narnolia

4 years ago

Not a very good one in infrastructure but when it comes to career it's one of the best in Bengal and this college also Have a wonderful placement record and faculties also concerns primarily upon the placement of the Students. They also encourage us to do extra stuffs w
L
Lalit

4 years ago

IEM Kolkata is best in terms of academics, faculty members or any other aspect. College also has Anti-Ragging committee which is helpful for students. College Management is strict but it's quite ok. Also, the placement of the college is good.
R
Ranajit Banerjee

3 years ago

This college is on the name of our former Chief Minister Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy and for the admissions, I have given the 12th Board examination result and when I was the student here the fee of the college was Rs 1.6 Lacs but now it has increased to 2 lacs and this coll
S
Supriya Roy

5 years ago

It's the best college in west Bengal under wbut... Not only from kolkta but also from bihar i mean from out of state.. Placement records ar3 also good here.. It's the best college in west Bengal under wbut... Not only from kolkta but also from bihar i mean from out of s
M
Monika Singh

3 years ago

This college of mine is affilaited with the West Bengal University of Technology and this is a 2 years course and the total course fee was Rs 3 Lacs. The subject of my MBA was Marketing and I have got admission here on the MAT Result and I have also done BBA Degree f
Verification SMS/Email Sent
Please enter OTP sent to mobile number
Phone no : Edit
Send OTP
Submit
Resend OTP
Retry in 00
Ask a Query.