Admission 2018 Open    ||    Bennett UniversityLast Date - 29th May APPLY NOW

 

 

 

 

 

Institute of Maritime Studies - Reviews

Goa
 

CollegeSearch Score

ARE YOU STUDENT HERE?

If you have studied or currently studying in this college, write your review now! Let admission seekers know better about the college.

FILTER

BY RATING
BY COURSES

REVIEWS

Install App to View
March 20th, 2017

 Best institute for Nautical science studies for merchant navy

CHIRAG BHARDWAJ B.Tech / B.E.  Student

PLACEMENTS    

Since the college is owned by shipping corporation of India hence after clearing 2nd Mate , all the cadets are placed in shipping corporation of India and maybe there will be some waiting period before joining as a 3rd officer depending upon the market.

Salary Package:   10 - 12 Lakhs

FACULTY    

No any specific favourite as everyone was good and almost all the faculty were the alumni of World Maritime University, Sweden.

ADMISSION    

Admission Criteria:Score is not available in public forum, I preferred this college over others taking the consideration that it is of Shipping corporation of India (A govt. Of India undertaking). Let's work our for our government.

CAMPUS LIFE    

Cultural show was good but not at par with some engineering colleges as these things are not the primary focus of the college, My college is something like semi-academy and hence a totally professional institute. But there were cultural fest for entertainment and taking off stress.

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
March 20th, 2017

Sreelal Perumath B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
4

I have studied in my college for one year as a Graduate marine engineering Trainee during the year 2015-2016. The first thing that attracted me in this college is their Sincerity, Determination and Trust worthiness for the training. Today most of the colleges around us has been build for looting money from us.Here, after studying one year I feel each penny that I had spent in this college for my education is worth for my life.They have never charged any extra amount for anything and there was no discrimination in between students. I felt like it as home because all the teachers were like parents to us. They were very supportive and caring. Overall, the dedication they are showing for the proper training of us is beyond words.They were ready to go any extend for our wellness. The facilities such as library, E- library, Hostel, Labs, Workshops, Play ground were well maintained and properly Directed. My Institute gave me proper Food, Health facilities and a good freedom with proper discipline. They was no compromise for perfect professional training including Our language skills and there was a lot of opportunities for Our extra curricular activities too. We had afloat training and visited many ships which gave us hands on experience and made me a who I am now.There is no wonder that this Institute stands as one of the best Maritime institute with A1 grade in India. I would proudly announce that I am an IMS boy.

PLACEMENTS    

There is a 100 % placement record ever since the college started.Students are getting placed even before the starting of the course and they will make sure each and every student will get placed. They have good relations with many good companies.

Marine electricals limited, Mormugao port, Goa shipyard limited, WISL. Visits to these industries are mandatory part of our training.

Salary Package:   4 - 6 Lakhs

FACULTY    

My favorite Teacher is the Deputy Director of my Institute , Mr Dipak B Shah. I have never seen such a simple and gentle human being ever in my life. During my education He was not only a Teacher for us but also a caring Parent, Encouragement and Role model. He is a Chief engineer and he was always and still ready to help us in any matter at any time. The way He was teaching is an example for most of the teachers today. He knows what to teach, When to teach and How to teach.

ADMISSION    

Entrance Exam Appeared For: Online entrance Exam

CAMPUS LIFE    

There was lot of events to show our talents such as college cultural day, International maritime day, hostel sports matches etc which was in the Magazines and was great fun for us.

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
March 20th, 2017

Virender Gautam B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
4

It was an endless learning experience, which made us seaworthy towards the end of tenure. I learnt to be discipline, work in a team. A well planned training schedule groomed us into skilled officers, ready to perform. Food served in college mess was also good and the complaint procedure in place was quite effective for improvement, thanks to excellent management. Labs and afloat training provide exposure and ultimate practical experience. Personality development and table manners classes inculcate officers like qualities . Mentors assigned to students are indispensable part of training as they provide guidance and clarify many quarries that candidates have.

PLACEMENTS    

Salary Package:   10 - 12 Lakhs

FACULTY    
ADMISSION    

Entrance Exam Appeared For: College's internal exam

CAMPUS LIFE    
 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
March 20th, 2017

Aaron Rodrigues B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
3

The institute is training graduate mechanical engineers to be competent Marine engine officers and good seafarers . The discipline required is high and rules have to be obeyed . Training and knowledge is well imparted

PLACEMENTS    

Until the last batch , IMS Goa has had a 100% placement record . We are given an opportunity to being trained in real, sea-going ships coming into the Goa port , training at Goa Shipyard Limited and training in our own institutes well equipped workshops and labs . Most of the seniors I have spoken to have had good things to say about the institute.

FACULTY    

Many of our teachers have very good international experience and vast work experience . The heads of our institute are experienced seafaring Chief Engineers . Other than them , teachers like Mr. Prashant Fadte , Mr. Tanuj Kumar and others are very experienced and convey their knowledge to the students very well making the toughest concepts understandable .

ADMISSION    

Entrance Exam Appeared For: Technical test set by the institute and psychometric evaluation

CAMPUS LIFE    

Being in the institute for just Ankit he the most fun I have had is for the New Year celebrations at the hostel . It is compulsory for every trainee to stay in the hostel and hence the celebrations were enjoyed by everyone together. Good snacks , food , sweets and drinks were organised . Danced to good music and very cadet enjoyed himself immensely until the new year countdown and still more .

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
March 20th, 2017

Shubham Ojha B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
3

This institute is One of the best Maritime training institute in India. This is the only institute in India which provides Afloat training to the cadet.

PLACEMENTS    

This is The only college which provides afloat training. This institute is situated near to harbor so there are many opportunities to visit various ships. Many shipping companies come here for placement. Each trainee cadet 100% placement in their desired shipping company.

Salary Package:   4 - 6 Lakhs

FACULTY    

All the teachers, here, have good knowledge both theoretical and practically, good teaching skills. My favourite teacher is prashant fadke sir. He teaches us naval architecture and ship stability. He has all the architectural knowledge about the ship and he explains all the concept clearly and simply.

ADMISSION    

Based on School / 12th Class Result, College's Internal Written Exam, Group Discussion / Personal Interview

Entrance Exam Appeared For: college written exam

CAMPUS LIFE    

Navy day, merchant navy day, inter hostel sports, inter college sports, passing out day and many other fests are there. This is very good. Fests are very much interested. We celebrate each festivals here. We respect each religion. We believe in social responsibility.

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
March 20th, 2017

Altamash Shaikh B.Tech / B.E.  Student

PLACEMENTS    

100% placement is providedMarine engineering is my dream field. By talking to alumini members of this college, i was assured that this is one of best training institutes in IndiaMarine engineering is my dream field. By talking to alumini members of this college, i was assured that this is one of best training institutes in IndiaMarine engineering is my dream field. By talking to alumini members of this college, i was assured that this is one of best training institutes in IndiaMarine engineering is my dream field. By talking to alumini members of this college, i was assured that this is one of best training institutes in IndiaMarine engineering is my dream field. By talking to alumini members of this college, i was assured that this is one of best training institutes in IndiaMarine engineering is my dream field. By talking to alumini members of this college, i was assured that this is one of best training institutes in India.

FACULTY    

Prof. Nilesh Sawant is my best teacher because he mixed learning with pleasure. He has done masters in oean engineering and has very good knowledge in the marine engineering field.

CAMPUS LIFE    

New year celebration was one of the best i have experience though i have been to new year celebration in GoaMarine engineering is my dream field. By talking to alumni members of this college, i was assured that this is one of best training institutes in IndiaMarine engineering is my dream field.

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
March 20th, 2017

SSS B.Tech / B.E.  Student

PLACEMENTS    

100% Placement Interview Conducted by International Shipping Company durring Admission. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Salary Package:   Less than 2.5 Lakhs

FACULTY    

Mr. Tanuj Kumar Sir Mr. Dipak Shaha Sir Both are Chief Engineer of Motor Vessel. Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

ADMISSION    

Entrance Exam Appeared For: ONLINE APTITUDE TEST

CAMPUS LIFE    

Technical Seminars Cultural & Annual Programs InterCollege Sports Competition National Days Parades XxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxXxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
March 20th, 2017

Anonymous B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
3

Institute of maritime studies is an institution who are looking for post graduate pre sea marine engineering. This being hands down one of the best colleges in our country with excellent and qualified administrative and teaching staff. Society for industrial training and education is the governing council of this institute. Institute provides with class leading training and exposure to its cadets. Hostel is spacious and provides all amenities necessary for the development of a cadet. Institute makes us aware of all the challenges that a professional could face on board any international vessel. Institutes admission procedure is tough with an entrance exam based on 4 years of mech/automation engineering followed by personal interview where the panel includes director, dpty. Director and representatives of different shipping companies. The training imparted on the cadet prepares him for the final aim which is to sail on foreign going vessels. The syllabus is vast with evenly distributed pattern of workshop, theory and hands on practical training. Institute is equipped with a welding, maching and marine workshop. Cadets also go to goa shipyard ltd, mormugao port trust for hands on experience on ships that arrive in these ports. Institute has the ability to turn mechanical engineers into merchant navy professionals. I am glad that i was a part of this institute.

PLACEMENTS    

Placements take place at the time of admission interview only. Different shipping companies send their representatives for selection of candidates. Candidates are selected based on merit only. Institute also puts in effort to place candidates who could not be placed at the time of the interview.

Yes it does provide us with industrial exposure. We frequently visit goa shipyard ltd, marine electrical agency, kirti marine, murmogao port trust

Salary Package:   6 - 8 lakhs

FACULTY    

M.C Asthana sir is tge director of this institute. He has worked as a chief engineer onboard vessels and has a positive attitude towards the all round development of a cadet.

ADMISSION    

Admission Criteria:I scored 74/100 After filling the admission form you would have to submit certain amount in the bank (about 2000) for entrance exam booking. After appearing for th exam, list of selected candidates(for interview) is put up on the website. Personal interview is the final level that has to be cracked which will ensure your admission.

CAMPUS LIFE    

Inter sadan sports competitions are held. International maritime day celebrations include various cultural and sports activities College has its own cultural day where all the cadet s and even the faculty show case their talents. Inter institute sport competitions are held to encourage sports.

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
March 20th, 2017

Uttam B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
5

IMS is good in all, We all know about it, but every institutes will be more better as per our expectations so their is no limit of our expectations so everything will be more better then present. Here time should be more manageable between falling because between every falling we have to wait for some time for next. Our class should be from 8 to 16:00 and playing time should be 16:00 to 18:00 and after that our study time..till 10:00 and our wake up time should be 5:30 and morning pt should be from 6:00-6:30 .then ...same...it will helpful for our health point of view. And milk should be give in night instead of morning from our diets..and all things are here perfect as ideal system. If I have to give score out of 100 then I will give 99.99. because no any system in the universe will be perfect. Thanks

PLACEMENTS    

Most of students are already placed before entering by some kind of sponsorship and remain get a placement in institutes by various shipping company.total placement is 100%. In marine field most of company select the students from their college and give a placement and send him for training in best institutes.so after completion of training they provide a job. And starting package is good. average package is about 50,000. Per months.and it will continually increase..up to 8 lakh in the 10 year approximately.

Salary Package:   6 - 8 lakhs

FACULTY    

All teacher are great and most favorite teachers is Mr.deepak sah..sir he gives any explanations with best example and making more interesting class.

ADMISSION    

Entrance Exam Appeared For: For gme

CAMPUS LIFE    

New year celebration, because we had did all enjoyment like party , fire night, D j , songs, dance and all fun events. Etc. In the food was all type of veg and non veg item.and cake , sweets, pasty, and cold drink all item I can not explain. And the event was awesome because of fired night and making special light. And we enjoyed a lot through dancing and DJ.

 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
March 20th, 2017

Pankaj Chavan B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
4

The Best Maritime Institute for Marine engineering in India. The Placement is assured what else a student expects. Best Afloat training that no other institutions offers. Best training. The best Teaching staff and excellent Teaching staff. I feel Lucky to Be a part of IMS Goa.

PLACEMENTS    
FACULTY    

Mr. Tanuj Kumar.. He is an Ex chief Engineer. He has the best knowledge and teaches very well.

ADMISSION    

Entrance Exam Appeared For: Institutions internal Online Exam

CAMPUS LIFE    
 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
March 20th, 2017

Abhijeet B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
4

Firstly, Overlook.Great campus and discipline environment. Onboard training and explore to the working environment on board.Best food with complete nutrition.Strict and well organised rules to follow .Great teachers and staff.

PLACEMENTS    
FACULTY    

My favorite Teacher is Mr. Tanu kumar.He is an chief engg. And luckily teacher of our college .The skill to understand cadet and teach is great.

ADMISSION    

Based on School / 12th Class Result, College's Internal Written Exam, Group Discussion / Personal Interview

Admission Criteria:Because my total interest was to be a good and hardworking marine engg. And taking review from most of my friends. This college turn to be the best college .Working with machine and travelling was the major goal in my life

CAMPUS LIFE    
 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Install App to View
March 20th, 2017

PULIENKEEZH ABRAHAM MATHEW B.Tech / B.E.  Student

OVERVIEW    
4

This is the best college I wish to join as I was placed in one of the worlds biggest shipping company at the time of admission process itself so I will recommend it

PLACEMENTS    

Salary Package:   2.5 - 4 Lakhs

FACULTY    

Most of my teachers are chief engineers and well experienced faculty who teaches us with all real life experiences

ADMISSION    

Based on School / 12th Class Result, College's Internal Written Exam, Group Discussion / Personal Interview, MEDICAL

Entrance Exam Appeared For: IMS ENTERANCE TEST

CAMPUS LIFE    
 FOOD
 INFRASTRUCTURE
 SPORTS
 SOCIETY
 FASHIONABLE
 TRAVEL
 PG NEARBY
 HOSTEL

Helpful ?      

Advertisement
Verification Message Sent
Please enter OTP sent to your mobile Phone
Phone no : Edit
Send OTP
Submit
Resend OTP
Retry in 00